Monday, September 5, 2011

Family Camp ..

The Creaches, an awesome family that seems to have a lot of fun has been telling and inviting us to YMCA family camp now for a couple years. Most years we were able to find an excuse.. this year we ran out of them- thank goodness!

Day 1 Friday:

Dennis had taken a day off from work and the girls got out of school early. I had us packed and ready to hit the road. Out of town (mostly) ahead of the crowd. We stopped in Half Moon Bay to browse the stores. P saw a pink cowgirl hat and now it's on her list of "things mom needs to buy me". We peeled out before that could be found and procured. The Jeske girls got books and I found one too only to be bitterly disappointed in the fact it's one I've already read, but had a different cover - I hate that. Thank goodness for the back up that is iBooks.

We peeled out to Pescadero and met up with the Creaches at Duarte's Tavern. Had a Guiness and dinner. For the Creaches it was like Cheers when Norm walked in shouts of the kids names and high pitch squeals abounded. Too much fun.




The girls in front of Duarte's.



P having a drink from the Milk bar..

We finished up and filed back to the cars, a ten minute drive up the road, past two families of deers we were at Camp Loma Mar. Dirt road, rustic cabins and all. No phone or internet access- way primative, my fingers were already twitching in with drawl. Dennis signed us in and we piled out to find our cabin; cabin 2. By the time we unpacked and found our flash lights it was ten minutes to camp fire. In that short amount of time we learned we'd have to introduce ourselves and show our banner. As not having a banner wasn't an option, we quickly hit the dining hall and got to work.


Flowers, hearts and a huge "j" and we all signed our names. It's all good. Up the hill, finally needing our flashlights we trekked.


Jeske's first camp fire (notice me .. in back)

Camp fire... If you've ever been to camp, what can you say? Goofy songs, punny skits and smoke. The staff introduced themselves with a variety of pseudonyms "Xena, Pinky, Lion Heart, Time piece, Mokki, Disney". At first I thought they must be some sort of sorry commune kids with jacked up names- cases of bad Hippy parenting; but each has some hidden meaning that just would have taken too much brain power to decipher.

The camp director Xena asked for volunteers, and out of the corner of my eye I see a hand shoot up ,a not unfamiliar hand. Major bummer O had us up on stage with major enthusiasm. We introduced ourselves as quickly as possible and I got back to the back of the auditorium as fast as humanly possible. Note to self to speak with my children about my life long philosophy of -stay in back and get the lay of the land beeeefooooooore volunteering - for anything.

The other families looked just as uncomfortable, but you could tell the veterans by their easy stage presence. One family, ahem, unfurled an invisible banner to cheers.

It was ten by the time we headed back to the cabins. We had dresses the girls in jammies so all that was left to do was to direct them into their bunks and zip them in. Count to ten and check their breathing, they were out. Have to say I was surprised by how freaking cold it was. Not that I hadn't been warned, I'm just skeptic by nature. It's August people. Sweat shirt and socks were needed along with my super warm sleeping bag. By the time morning came, I had only my nose peeking out.

Our digs..


The bare necessities


Storage..

Saturday Day 2:

Woke at 7:30 the girls were excited to start the day. At eight we headed down to the dining hall. Washed our hands and headed in; pancakes, fruit, trays of bacon and buckets of syrup. Most importantly they had good coffee.

At nine they had 'inspiration' which they deemed like campfire but with out the fire. We declined attendance and hung around our cabin. Got the girls dressed and teeth brushed; it was all good. Ten we walked 5 feet to the flag pole and watched the flag raising.


They asked for volunteers and both girls were out helping to raise the flag. We pledged then listened to the days activities.


Tie dying
Rock wall climbing
Kick ball
Archery
Earth ball games
Zip lining

The girls were all in for zip lining. Dennis walked down with them as I took a couple minutes to straighten up. P was first to zoom across the field. O was fourth.



Both zipped at terrifying speed across the field. Twenty feet in the air smiles as wide as all get out.


As they were only allowed one turn P was quick to spot the Earth Ball games. We walked over to learn how to play "Indiana Jones Ball". A circle of people and four cones in the middle we heaved the Earth Ball around with the goal of 'tagging' the kid in the middle. It was awesome. Both girls were totally stoked as they tried to out maneuver the five foot high inflated ball. I can't say that I wasn't having fun trying to bounce the thing off the back of them.

Now let me tell you about the 'Gaga Pit'. What? What is a Gaga Pit?



An octangular Thunderdome of pure glee. Five foot plywood sides with a small hinged door to let out those knocked out. You start with about twenty kids and adults, butts on the wall then drop in a six inch nerf ball that you use to peg people under the knee to knock them out. Part Dodge ball, part Lord of the Flies. It's awesome- to the point where even I was in the pit having a flipping blast.



Last one standing wins


O and D waiting to get back in the Gaga pit.

Soon was time for lunch. Potato bar with chili and corn bread. Hey it's camp, not the Ritz.


Dining hall buffet table. Serve yourself, bus your dishes and wipe down your tables.

Oh and did I mention, no Wifi, no cell service. This is it..


Total old school.

A siesta for an hour after then the girls diverged. P was all in for Nature art and O and Dennis were off to shoot things with arrows. The P and I made pipe cleaner crowns with feathers and pine leaves the like Don Quixote we walked over to the rock wall and back searching for the archery field. We gave up after we noticed the pool was open. We jumped in our suits and hit the pool. Had to do a swim test one lap and then tread water for 1 minute. P made it across then couldn't keep her head above water for a minute. Her brave face crumbled and she spent 20 minutes sobbing in a towel huddled in my lap. There's always next year.

We dressed and got P's feet back from turning blue in time for dinner. Roast chicken, mashed potatoes, salad bar and homemade bread. The girls subsisted on cheese a carrot and Dennis begged for a PB and J from the kitchen staff for the girls.

Fed, or sort of fed we went back to the cabins and got ready for a game of 'scrounge'. Three counselors across the meadow calling out for random items
"bring me a.... Pillow pet"
"first grown man wearing lipstick"
"first person under ten in a sleeping bag hopping up here..".
"first team to bring a mattress and have the whole team sit on it"
I had no idea how competitive people were until this game, it was hilarious and a ton of fun. And we totally won. But they declared everyone winners. (I'm just saying' we were robbed). After shoveling all our stuff back in our cabin we were back up for camp fire and gourmet s'mores bar. Songs, stories, ukeleles and mayhem. After camp fire the smarter of the parents took P back and tucked her in and lounged. The other went on the Batan death march of night hikes. Mistake number one- following O's request to go, #2 el husbando had the flash light, mistake number three, trying to spark a wintergreen lifesaver while trying to keep my balance on a ridge top.

Tough night of sleep, two tissue paper thin mattresses made me feel like the princess and the pea. Tip from veterans is to bring their own blow up camping mattresses is duly noted. I've had better nights sleep.

Sunday Day 3:

Eggs, potatoes and toast. Cereals and juices, fruit and yogurt. And bless them..coffee.

Finally made it to to the shower. Not exactly spa like, but I didnt feel like I might catch some dreaded skin rot. Enough warm water to get clean.

Flag raising at ten. Activities were announced
Tie dye
Games in the woods
Zip line
Archery
Lanyards
Story telling


Three out of four Jeske's tie dyed then wandered off to find our child of the forest. O was playing camouflage where you counted to twenty then you had to have visual of the person who is it.. Oh geeze. You had to be here. But you will be - next year right? Are you with me yet?

Yeah,well..

Pizza for lunch, grapes and salad. Fruit punch, milk and coffee.

After lunch new activities!
Creek stomp
Drawing
Skit prep
Gaga
Zip line
Snipe hunt
Meadow games

Oh, revenge is sweet! Dennis took the girls to the creek stomp. I took the towels and waited for them down by the stream.


I had forty minutes of peace and quite.


The girls and Dennis waded in the creek for a mile walk -some times waist deep water as cold as any mountain run off. Hehehehehe.. P and O both came out blue and Dennis soaked to his belly button crawled out muttering all sorts of kind and lovely endearments. Apparently he thought I had said I was coming and I missed O's first time peeing in the woods. Huh? Bummer.

We schlepped up the hill in search of dry clothes and snacks. The girls dried off and changed - note to self; more long pants and 15 pair more socks.

The open activities were the pool, the ping pong tables in the yurt. No one took me up on my 'ping pong to the death' challenge. So I've been sitting in here blogging, watching happy dusty kids kick soccer balls around the flag pole, listening to guitar riffs from the skits to be performed tonight and watching the old guard reading or chatting under the trees.

An hour until dinner and the pack has migrated down to the creek to skip rocks.

Dinner was a Mexican burrito bar, flour tortillas, fajita meat, beans, rice, sour cream and cheese.

The after dinner 'twilight game' was some sort of dodge ball-kick the can-freeze tag- dress-up-cricket hybrid only the kids could figure out. Lots of squeals and laughter while the adults sat on the porch of the lodge drinking coffee.

At eight we lowered the flag and headed up to campfire. Cabins 1, 2 and 3 kids did a skit - the best one of the night if I do say so myself. Lots of jokes, songs and hilarity. At the end of the evening we did a candle lit walk to the meadow to sing the closing song. It was really a great way to wrap up the evening.

P and I headed to the potties to brush and flush. O declined as it was too cold to go out. I agreed but I hate going to bed with funky teeth.

Tomorrow is the polar bear swim 7:30 am at the unheated pool. Me thinks I'll decline.

Monday Day 4:

Woke up at eight. Somehow missed the polar bear swim, had to shake the girls up to make breakfast.


French toast, sausage, fruit, oatmeal or cereals.

The camp director Xena asked the girls to be in a skit at inspiration. Our first time and as pretty, non practicing anythings, I have to say it was nice. The girls did a skit, about the color 'yellow' who meets different colors and everyone leaves their marks on him - as in each kid got to paint a different color on this poor counselor. That kid deserves a raise!


my kids loved it.

After we did the flag raising ceremony we broke out to do our last activities, we chose a hike with Andy to Memorial Park to see 'dead Fred' a fallen redwood. Across a creek, through the woods.. Pretty awesome. Only a couple wet kids on the way home.

The closing lunch was burgers and dogs. We were all packed up so the girls did a potty run and we peeled out. When I asked the girls what they liked most, they listed as much as they could remember doing, and the worst- neither could come up with anything.

Thank you again Andy and Bridget and all our new friends, we can't wait for next year!

Sunday, August 28, 2011

Where I like to be..

I love Sundays. Getting up reading the Chronicle - it's the day it takes 30 minutes to read rather than 10. We have a system, Dennis guts the ads and grabs Parade and I get the rest. Then leisurely swap.

Not this morning. It's Niles Flea Market and Antiques Fair. Mr. Jeske was to be up at 4am to open the school gates and rent out the yard to a variety of colorful characters. The school uses the monies for sending sixth graders to science camp. Yes, I'm married to a good egg.

This morning, things not so smooth. My eyes popped open and peeked at the clock. 6:20 am, to my left, Mr. Jeske. Trying not to scream "you're laaaaaate" I nudged him up. After a colorful streak of vernacular he was out of bed and out the door.

I followed him out grabbed the paper and came back to start a pot of coffee.

Got a texts from Hillary, the other parent volunteer/hero, keeping Mr. Jeske in check. No to the electric guitar.

Mr. J was home by ten and I was off. Where does one go Sundays at 10 am? The Farmers market of course.


It doesn't look like much, but let me tell you the reasons why I go: white nectaries, pluots, tomatoes, strawberries, lunch box apples and enough veggies to keep a herd of rabbits happy.



Plus, a few of the vendors are from Hughson. Yep yep yep..saves me a 174 mile drive. Of course any time I've tried to ask them about Hughson they look at me like I'm insane - somehow I don't mind. J&J, Rodriguez and Inzana Farms.



Inzana nuts.



And I don't know how you get this gig, but it's pretty sweet; "dude, I killed the Farmers Market".




And these.. Long beans? Anyone know how to prep and cook them?

And as for the flea market, I got on my bike and did a ride down town. Now, I'm not looking for anything so I wanted to get out and see who was selling what. Okay, totally lying, I wanted to see my Mommy buddies.

Peeled out up the street to main and check out the 'antiques'. I'm pretty sure some were fresh off the boat from China and others were straight out of someones dead neighbors house. The food booths smelled amazing. Visited lots of friends along the way, even let someone ride my bike. In short, it was an awesome day.

Now I'm home with two kids cracking out on the computer.

Two more days until school..

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Mrs. Grossmans

Oh yep, thought I'd blog about Mrs. Grossman's because, it was Awesome.


The fabulous Mz Gail drove like a champ. We started out trying to follow Elizabeth and Amy but quickly lost them on the 880, no worries all heading to the same place. Took us about an hour and twenty to get there. Picnicked on the side of the road down from the factory. The kids had seen an awesome playground that turned out to be a Montessori school - bummer but no worries we had -the grass on the side of the road- with shade. Lunch eaten, shared and smushed during a wild game of tag. Fueled and 'wiggles worked out' we peeled out for the factory.

We checked in, you have to have a reservation, all eleven of us, four Moms seven kids, many of us Mrs. Grossman fans from childhood. (One even had an album AND went to sticker swapping parties-Did you hear that? Sticker swapping parties-Freaking awesome childhood).

$7 for adults $5 for kids. We forked over the cash and were invited to browse the latest line of stickers. But wait, there's more.. just insiiiiiide the door are the discount stickers. Did you hear the $5 of allowance in my children's purse explode in flames?

Our tour started with a video quite like this one with some discrepancies - Mrs. G's semi retired and the plant is half it's original size.

No pictures were allowed of the factory, which kind of a disappointment-but don't drag that lower lip, at each stop of the tour you get stickers!
(note: I'm not going to post pictures of the stickers because it should be a bit of a surprise.)

Sticker at the video room - classic Mrs. G's heart sticker
Die cut - glitter hearts
Paper loading - puppy stickers
Packaging - retired cowboy boots
Recycling/green stop - PG&E LED key chain
Storage - Photo Op



O & P


D & K


M & J


Miss A
Embossing - 8 ball
Laser cutting machine - roller coaster

~But wait, there's more. Back in the video room they hand out scenery cards and Eight more sheets of stickers..

~But wait, there's More, beautiful laser cut small scrap book that you can stick your stickers!

~(bare with me) But Wait Theres More..when you're back to the lobby/ store when you spend more than $30 in product they give you back your tour price in a discount. Not that anyone I know spent that much in stickers.
I do have an excuse, I picked up a 'teacher pack' for Hilary. Chock full of sticker goodness. I'm dying to rip it open and rifle through -note to self, call Hilary to come get them soon.


The girls found great stickers, so did their Mom :) I'm not even going to tell you about the $2 scissors I picked up. Oh wait..

Long hot ride home, the back of Gails van was awash in a sea of sticker backings. Three out of four couldn't wait until they got home to start their books. Seven happy kids, four happy Moms.

If you want to go, check them out at their web site mrsgrossman.com

Saturday, August 6, 2011

The long road

Started out in Isleworth up at 6:30 couldn't sleep. Brewed my last pot of coffee in the French press (last time!) checked email and facebook. Dennis was up by 7:30 showering and finishing up the last bits. We crammed the last bits into our suitcases. Found a couple stray socks. We left two bags of kids clothes -mostly P's that were shot due to lack of mommy's lack of stain fighting knowledge. I'm hoping they won't notice. If they do i'll play the 'sticker book' card. "we needed room for your sticker books.

The girls were up by ten dressed and ready to peel out. "we get to see Cody!" followed by a list of names of kids they want to have play dates with. Basically if you live within a 150 mile radius, you're in :)

Nick our go to guy for the house came by at ten. We had broken a chair and wanted to let him see we hadn't trashed the rest of the place -ala Airbnb. The break was an old one that had been repaired badly. (whew) Apparently the leasing place had another renter coming by to see the place an hour after we left.

The cab got lost - not an unfamiliar issue, we had learned to ask them to come half an hour earlier. We got to the airport by 11:30 our flight was at 1:50.

Went through the "family lane" security check. Rainbows on their metal detectors! How could we resist. We should have. Dennis pegged it when he said "I bet some business dude thought 'how can I get all these families and children out of my way'". One family in front of us -thinking it's all good. Not. One family of three, five bins. Five plastic bins. Our turn with the security lady speaking slowly like we're maroons "put everything in a...bin. No you.. Put everything in the bin.. Do you have any liquids? Annnnny liquids".

We had lunch at Giraffe Cafe -plastic giraffes are a huge draw and the foods good. Well, let's back up. I'm dying for Mexican food. Have not seen a taco or a real nacho anywhere. Nachos in London are made with dorritoes. Not even joking.
I know better than to order Mexican food any where but Mexico or California. I do, I just can't resist. And so I pay the price; my veggie burrito was 3" with chunks of potato and zucchini, doesn't sound too bad until you add a tomato sauce and.. Goat cheese. Now, I love all that I just listed, but not together. Meh.

Both girls had promised, promised us that they could carry their sticker books in their back packs. Each had at least an added 10lbs on their backs. No shock, guess who had the packs? One for Dad and one for Mom.

We peeled out, headed to our gate. Down the escalators, on the subway, up the escalator. Up another escalator and finally to the gate. Spent our last ten pounds on cadbury chocolates. Sorry Deb no violet crumbles to be found.

The flight was long. Finally saw "Paul" tried to watch "Thor" juust couldn't get into it.
The food was exceptionally bad. P ate a packet of butter and a couple shots of apple juice. Not to worry we had packed Smarties.

I'm loosing steam here so I'll wrap up. Plane flew in air. Plane landed safe. Took van home. TiVo good. Shower and pajamas good.











Shout out to Ms. Gail, bag of Cheerios, coffee, juice and milk.








Massive thank you for the adorable cherub art work welcoming us home; cannot tell you how grateful we are, we're feeling the love.

Right, so off to bed with us.. Will we see you in the plaza? Music starts at 1pm.


Sunday, July 31, 2011

Paris, par two.

We woke up at eight and were out the door by 9:30 up. Packed. And in a cab. zipping through Paris on the way to the Louvre. We were in the line and inside by quarter to ten. Tickets in hand we peeled out to see the Mona Lisa. Stunning as always. It's been twenty (or so) years since I've seen her and she's aged well. Much better than myself. :(

Anyhow, le grande dame checked off, we hit some other high lights.


First had to find them. Consulted the map, conferred with the cherubs and we had a plan.


Egyptian wing. Did it.


Lady with no arms.. Check (p.s. She has plumbers butt in back).


See-Hilarious. Bet she wishes she had her arms back just to hitch up her sheet.





P had beignets at the cafe, she's a French food convert. "can I have crepes and donuts for lunch!" um. No.

By noon we had zoomed through. We learned yesterday that if you took a minute to look at each work of art in the Louvre, you would still be there four months later. Hopefully, the girls will remember the whirl wind trip. There is so much more we missed, but honestly, I truly didn't love Paris last time - and I think I've left on much better terms, still not love, but much less disdain.

The Eurostar Chunnel train was really a fun way to travel. We had a four top table big enough for the girls sticker books and our coffee. Two hours from Gard du Nord to the Kings Cross station. We were beat so we cabbed home. Our driver had four kids at home so he was a great source of checking to see that we've see quite a bit of his city. Good to know we've done a good job.

We've also decided we're going to take a "big red bus" tour of San Francisco. It's been too long since we've been tourists in our own city, could be fun..Who's coming along?


Saturday, July 30, 2011

Paris

Caught the Eurostar train from Kings Cross station. On board at 9am and in Paris two hours later at Gard du Nord (lost an hour due to time differences). Arrived at the hotel and shucked our bags down the street and around the corner..





Smack into the Arc de Triomphe. Walked under the street and all around. Everywhere there are signs warning about pick pockets. Dennis untucked his shirt and put everything in his front pockets. I had my money belt and €20 in my purse. Off we trekked.

We had a mission: to see the Eiffel Tower. O when she was three made Dennis "pinky swear" that he would one day take her to see it. After getting our bearings off we peeled down the street complete with the P's sound track of "it's hot" follow by "how much further" and my personal favorite "WHEN ARE WE GOING TO BE THERE". Put those with a wicked back beat and you have the Jeske traveling sound track. .

We were almost there when we were side tracked by a fantastic street market that I made everyone march through. Cheese, fish, dresses, table clothes.. Fabulous smells and sights. I could have stayed all day but they were closing up shop.








We passed over the pedestrian bridge with an amazing view. Ten minutes later we'd arrived at the tower.

But first we had to have lunch. P can now decipher the word "crepe" and there was no stopping her. We had crepes with cheese and one with nutella. Can you guess which one they ate? Fortified we ventured to the base.





Thirty minutes later (we're a little slow on the uptake) we were in line. Purchased tickets to the top. Didn't realize how far up that sucker goes. One elevator up to the second observation balcony. The onward all the way up. I'm not a fan of heights, nor old elevators. Plus the crush of humanity and the only way I'm up there is because Dennis shamed me with "its for your kids".

Top was nice, terra firma was much better. We stopped to buy Eiffel Tower key chains that light up for the girls back packs. There are signs all around and street vendors selling all sorts of souvineers -the police bike through chasing them off like pigeons, but they seem to move ten feet and flock somewhere else.

We've had fantastic luck with boat cruises all this trip and the girls are always in favor of them so we headed for a Seine cruise. Great weather, good sights and beautiful bridges. Not half as pretty as an Amsterdam cruise but still lovely.

We cabbed home to the hotel to check in; it was already eight and we thought about room service, but 20€ a cheese pizza, we thought again. Headed out with a list of local eateries that don't shun kids. Found a spot at a local place called Clementine.





Paper hats, Pasta with butter, apple juice - can you say "happy children". We had a delicious meal with fried goat cheese and salad, ham and mashed potatoes. A couple of beers and "happy parents" as well.








Did I mention the chocolate cake? Apparently you have to make crazy eyes after you try it. It was 9:30 by the time we got out of there. The manager followed the kids out to hand the Candy Apples. As if they hadn't just consumed enough chocolate crack cake. The girls are 5' away as I type. The hotel left tiny bears on their beds. Tucked in they chorus like crickets "I can't sleep.. I can't sleep.." zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Goodnight from Paris.

Sarah

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

A serene day at home

Another day of sloth, I get it. The Bob that is a Sponge is entertaining. So I caved. We have a short list of 'must sees' left to do and have been running for a good month straight. So, sure, sit back lets put our feet up and hang out.

Not. How. It. Went.

From the start both were in there underpants surrounded by their stuffed animals zombied to the point of drool. I fed them thinking that might get them off the couch.

It did- just with the volume turned up so they could hear the show from the other room. I made them get dressed during a commercial break. Oh the inhumanity! You would have thought I had asked for them to travel to Greece to slay and retrieve the head of Medusa. I felt like I had after getting them in pants.

It's a damn shame that it's not socially acceptable to drink Guiness in the morning as it might have made the day tolerable. From that point I picked up my book and tried ignoring them for a bit.

I'm not proud to say I let them O.D. on TV. Then on to their leapsters and back. Breaks for sandwiches and drinks.

Around two the TV was turned off and the snipping began:
"you can't be in my club", (a blanket set on the floor) met with
"you can't be any of my sticker girls" and degraded from there. At one point it was pointed out that the others hair was a "disaster" tears fell. I judiciously left the room with my book and tried to hide, thinking maybe they could work it out themselves. (Stop, I can hear you laughing from here.)

Unfortunately, I had one chapter left; shortly finished it and was forced to come back and actually parent before they drew blood.

Here's my confession. I was raised with boys. If insults were exchanged couple of WWF type moves or a slap upside the head and one left the room. The end.

Girls, wow, my girls can go on and on.. snarky, snarling about the others insecurities -real or imagined. Part of me wants to use the "both of you come here" and knock their craniums together with a satisfying 'thump'. The other part wants them just to freaking get along without me wearing a striped jersey and a whistle. Are eight and six too young for boarding school?

Not sure I've mentioned that the rooms have long windows from the upstairs bedrooms so you can hear everything from the down stairs. It's like even when they're out of view, we can still hear them. (I'm pretty sure it's the basis for M. Night Shyamalan's next flick.)

Love my kids but they're exhausting me. Being around them 24/7 for the past month is taking it's toll. We've hiked, we seen the sights, we've crafted and stickered. Pretty sure they're tired of me too.

Was thrilled when Dennis walked through the door. Pretty sure I was cheering loudest.

Hopefully, tomorrow, looking at another day of the same they might choose to get out into the sunshine -honestly they'll have no choice, I'm out of books.


Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Natural History Redux

Perhaps you remember the "lip heard round the world" when O found out the dinosaur wing of the Natural History Museum was closed. Today we went back.

Late start because Sponge Bob was having a marathon.

Now, I'm the first to admit, Sponge Bob is not my favorite cartoon. You might even go further and say "gee Sarah, didn't you say you hate him with the burning intensity of a thousand suns?" Yes, yes I did. "What happened?" you ask. It's one of four tv channels we get and Noni said it was okay.


All I can say is I can't wait to get home. They can sleep in their own beds, I can wean them off gelato and jolly ranchers and purge their mind of the Sponge named Bob..

I digress.

So we ping up to the museum taking the train to a new tube stop. Pop up twenty feet from the museum. And walk up to a line that is three times as long as last week. Down the front, zigzagged around the lawns. All we wanted to see are the dinosaurs. P's reaction "who are all these people". First time we've seen kids O's age. But it moved fast.

Might I comment (again) on personal space? If you can see my freckles on the back of my neck and I can feel your creepy moist breath -you're too freaking close. If your child keeps whacking me with their stuffed animal and I happen to turn around and look at you on your cell phone, feign interest at my annoyance and at least mouth an apology- goodness knows I've had to multiple times in the past. If you come from a country that doesn't 'line up' yes, I'm trying to tell you something when I link hands with my children and not let you push past.

I will now take off my cranky pants.

We were in the museum saw all the dinosaur stuff. It was fantastic. Lots of bones, a great animatronic t-Rex. There's not much really else to say, but I'm not the Dino fan.. And for the record we did see a Gallimimus fossil. Spoiler alert, looks like a big chicken, with a tail.

We peeled out maybe thirty minutes after we arrived. Had carmel gelato on the grass while I soothed my nerves with a latte.

We walked thirty feet to the Science Museum. You could feel the air vibrate with child glee. We headed to the IMAX counter to see what was playing, I thought a space adventure sounded good but was shot down for orphaned elephants and orangutans. That settled we went to get lunch. (yes, the sequence is correct, gelato then lunch) Between juggling three plates and drinks I had no energy to assess the lunches until we got to the table. Fries, pizza, cheese sandwich, yogurt, two desserts, two different apple juices.. > than stellar.



Oh.. And the dinosaur? Let me go back..thirty or so years.. My mom purchased a 'dinosaur stick' (basically a dinosaur head that you can manipulate its jaws with a trigger control.. on a stick) for a 4 year old Pete that he traumatized unsuspecting airline passengers, waitresses and NYC pigeons. We found a replacement and had a great time with him all day. Oh, and he likes fries.


And pizza.

Happy full cherubs.

We hit the IMAX, show was wonderful.





And the glasses..speak for themselves. Jackie O eat your heart out.

We walked out into a fantastic museum space with airplanes





Space crafts


Cars

And a huge room much like that of the Exploratorium. We caught an explosive show for kids that was perfect. Freaked out enough to keep checking on me and yet thrilled that things kept blowing up. At one point the performer had Barbie stuffed in a cannon giving the audience a choice of chanting "fly Barbie fly" or "die Barbie die". Unfortunately, the cannon didn't light. :( <-- my very sad face.

We walked through the floors all over again and into the gift store, overwhelmed by the choices the kids were paralyzed. I was loosing my mind. So much so temporary insanity took over and P was allowed to buy a flute. The only saving grace is that it has to be filled with water and therefore can only be used in the tub.

By five thirty we were over done, but mission accomplished showing P all museums aren't boring.

We coordinated with Dennis to meet in Richmond for dinner. Hit a book store (P picked up her eighth sticker book) and asked the clerk for a child friendly place. Giraffe Cafe complete with plastic giraffe's hanging on the edge of the drinks. Perfect ending to a long day.

I haven't figured out tomorrow. But we'll let you know what we're up to ;)

Mas love,
Sarah

Sunday, July 24, 2011

Sunday at Hampton Court Palace

After yesterday, we regrouped and decided to spend time at Hampton Court Palace. No rhyme or reason, it's just been recommended so much by all of you friends and family we had to go; and it was worth it.

We took the train to Clapham Junction and entered a warren of tunnels like hamster tubes. I am always amazed that in a 4' closet sized space someone is selling papers, candy and.. potholders. Up to the proper platform, then rerouted to another. The Hampton Court train was delayed but not by much. It arrived jam packed with tourists. Sat next to a woman from Pennsylvania, they were visiting three countries in two weeks. It was their last day in London. Said 'bye at the station and followed the crowds to the palace. Hers and ours are very different trips.

Red bricks and amazing iron and stone works all around. The palace is on the banks of the Thames and we hit it at a perfect day. Sun and mild temperatures. Dennis went to get tickets while the girls raced up and down the lawns. They acquired a couple of tiny French children who raced along side. You could tell the natives as they were half nekkid soaking up the rare bits of sunshine.

Sadly, I don't know enough about Henry the VIII but I do know not many (okay, one) of his wives survived (don't worry, I've bought books). We toured the kitchens, complete with a creepy pot of stew that was like a scratch and sniff -almost stew like, but with a touch of plastic smell.





The girls in front of the Tudor kitchen fires and plastic hunks of meat on spits.

We passed through Henry VIII as a child exhibit, the Georgian rooms, Mary II's rooms





Here are the girls are pitching me ideas on how to redecorate their bedrooms.

We slid into the cafe for some lunch







It's beef pie, sloshed with gravy. It was, okay. I'm starting to think gravy is on my list of "things the world could do with out"
1 gravy
2 Bo Derrick braids
3 Fox News

.. I could go on, but I'll spare you.

Then we walked the garden. First up the maze. I sent Dennis in with the two cherubs, they made it out before I could even read a chapter of my book.

Then off to the yards.. 300 year old trees, beautiful garden beds bursting with blooms.

















And a couple of fountains.

The girls saw a sign for 'carriage rides'. Now you hear that and think 'cinderella' or at least a NY type open carriage. Nope. Two amazing Clydesdale like horses pulling what looked like modified golf cart type vehicles.






The $16 ride took us about 15 minutes around the edge of the garden. Truly felt like a tourist.

By hour three attention was waning and we were ready to call it a day. The we ran into





Anne. P has declared this is who she wants to be for Halloween. Thank goodness I have a couple months. The hat alone would take me a month. Maybe I'll push for another year of 'rainbow puppy'.

We escaped and had ice cream. O and Dennis wanted to take a Thames cruise to Richmond while P was adamant she "just wanted to go home". We split up. P and I exploring the bus routes and got home in an hour. Dennis and O went on a leisurely two hour cruise up to Richmond. O navigated from there orientating from the Ben & Jerry's shop. If there was orienteering in an urban setting, I'd enter both my kids.

Oh and fresh from the P: "Mom, I'm pretty sure that thing on the front of his armor was for his penis". She was totally right, so I just nodded in agreement.

Home no worse for wear, I'm spending tomorrow going through ticket stubs and accumulated papers. Our table is full of bits of tickets, receipts and tags from all over. I'm hoping we can get them into the girls scrap books and pitch the rest.

But for now, it's the last chapter of "Indian in the Cupboard".

xo Sarah

PS: Remembered Deb's stealth photo taking advice.. Paused, looked like I was checking messages, sound off.. Click.





At the bus stop. Moccasins, horizontal ill fitting striped knit skirt (with roses) Fur purse. Her hair was cherry red with many Bobbi pins and a red bandanna. I'm sure her style came straight from the pages of French Vogue.